PHYSIOGRAPHY 11

Daylight Saving Time; in the other provinces the authority is left to the municipalities. By general agreement, Daylight Saving, where it is observed, is in force for six months from the last Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

1.4 Public land

The total area of Canada and the areas of the individual provinces and territories are classified by tenure in Table 1.8. All lands, with the exception of those privately owned or in process of alienation, are Crown lands under the jurisdiction of either the federal or the provincial governments.

Federal public land. Public lands under the administration of the federal government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay, lands in the Yukon Territory, ordnance and admiralty lands, national parks and national historic parks and sites, forest experiment stations, experimental farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the federal government for various purposes connected with federal administration. These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1970, c.T-6) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1970, c.P-29).

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory where only 93 sq miles of a total area of 1,511,979 sq miles are privately owned and 1,406 sq miles are under the administration of the territorial governments.

Provincial and territorial public land. Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway belt and Peace River block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In 1930, the federal government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in Newfoundland, except those administered by the federal government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on March 31, 1949. All land in Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 133 sq miles under federal or provincial administration.

The transfer by the federal government of significant areas of land within and immediately surrounding established communities in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory to the administration of the respective territorial governments began in September 1970. In that year, four such transfers were completed, three in the Northwest Territories and one in the Yukon, for a total of 665 sq miles. Since then nine transfers were completed in the following areas. Yukon Territory: Faro (91 sq miles); Northwest Territories: Frobisher Bay (51 sq miles), Aklavik (8 sq miles), Fort Simpson (140 sq miles), Fort Smith (22 sq miles), Fort Providence (81 sq miles), Hay River—Enterprise (142 sq miles), Norman Wells (175 sq miles), and Fort McPherson (31 sq miles).

1.4.1 Federal parks

Parks Canada, a program of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, includes national parks, national historic parks and sites, canals, national marine parks, national landmarks and wild rivers. Joint provincial-federal co-operation has resulted in a nation-wide network of parks, historic parks and sites, historic waterways and land trails, and scenic parkways. Parks Canada has its headquarters in Ottawa but operational responsibility for the program rests with the five regional offices: the Atlantic regional office in Halifax, the Quebec regional office in Quebec City, the Ontario regional office in Cornwall, the Prairie regional office in Winnipeg and the Western regional office in Calgary.

National historic parks and sites. The National Historic Parks and Sites of Canada commemorate the persons, places and events which have been declared to be of major significance in the historical development of Canada. The passage of the Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act in 1911 was a significant step in the federal government's commemorative program. This Act created within the Department of the Interior a Dominion Parks Board to administer national and historic parks. In 1917, Fort Anne at Annapolis Royal, NS, was transferred from the Department of the Militia and declared Canada's first national park of historic significance.

Upon the recommendation of the Commissioner of the Dominion Parks Board, a sevenmember Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was formed to advise the Minister on the matter of sites of national historical interest. The Board met for the first time at Ottawa on